Arrieta and Keuchel win Cy Young awards

Michael Hebb, Sports Editor

Both the National League and American League Cy Young Awards were awarded November 19. Dallas Keuchel of the Houston Astros won the American League award, and Jake Arrieta of the Chicago Cubs won the National League award.

Arrieta beat out Clayton Kershaw and Zack Greinke of the Los Angeles Dodgers to win the award. Greinke held a record of 19-3 with a 1.66 earned run average (ERA), and Kershaw went 16-7 with a 2.13 ERA. Arrieta was 22-6 with a 1.77 ERA, but did not get that number below 2.00 until later in the season.

After the All-Star break, Arrieta had the most dominating second half of the season ever. He posted a 0.75 ERA after the break and held a 12-1 record. He only gave up 9 runs throughout 101 1/3 innings. It was a great week for the Cubs, as Kris Bryant won the NL Rookie of the Year, and Joe Maddon won Manager of the Year.

Dallas Keuchel put up a 20-8 record and posted a 2.48 ERA. He beat out David Price and Sonny Gray to win the award. Gray had a 14-7 record with a 2.73 ERA and Price had a 18-5 record with a 2.45 ERA.

Keuchel was the most dominant pitcher at home in the MLB. He held an outstanding 15-0 record while pitching at Minute Maid Park, the Astros home stadium. However, on the road, he was only 5-8 with a 3.77 ERA. This was one of the reasons why some fans and analysts did not think that he deserved it.

Both Arrieta and Keuchel are young pitchers and may have even better seasons ahead of them.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email