All-NBA Teams announced

Erik Hultgren, News Reporter

On May 18, 2017, the NBA released its three annual All-NBA teams. All-NBA teams are put out at the end of the season every year to showcase and award the best players of the season. The three teams, which are voted in by a global panel of sportswriters and broadcasters, each consist of five players which are sorted into three categories: guards, forwards, and centers. Each team is allowed two guards, two forwards, and one center. The players voted into this year’s All-NBA first team were: Russell Westbrook, James Harden, Kawhi Leonard, LeBron James, and Anthony Davis. The only somewhat controversial inclusion was Anthony Davis of the New Orleans Pelicans. Russell Westbrook and James Harden were both considered to be locks for the team, as they both had career years and are competing for the MVP award. LeBron James’ inclusion in the team was no surprise either, as he matched an NBA record held by Karl Malone with his eleventh selection. To round out the team was two-time defensive player of the year Kawhi Leonard, who had his best year to date this season and is considered to be among the most well-rounded players in the league. In addition to the first team, the NBA released its All-NBA second and third teams. The second team consisted of Isaiah Thomas, Stephen Curry, Giannis Antetokounmpo, Kevin Durant, and Rudy Gobert, while the third team was made up by John Wall, Demar Derozan, Jimmy Butler, Draymond Green, and Deandre Jordan.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email